People love the 80s.  I’ll admit it, I like them quite a bit.  But sometimes I forget why.  I mean, the clothes were terrible, the hair was horrible, and technology was a joke.  And then I see this.

Go ahead, click it.  It’s the video for Cyndi Lauper’s “Goonies ‘R Good Enough” video–that’s right, the theme for one of my all-time favorite movies, “The Goonies.”  I discovered this incredible gem while watching the DVD tonight. 

I mean, they just don’t make stuff like this anymore.  I know that I can’t catalogue all of the amazing things about the video, but I have to try…  Maybe I’ll do a Top 10 list…

The Top Ten Most Awesome Things about the “Goonies ‘R Good Enough” Video

10.  The terribly spliced clips from the movie that are apparently supposed to look like part of the “action” in the video–even though they’re in two different formats and the colors are completely different.

9.  The fact that Cyndi and her family just happen to be in the same situation as the kids in the movie–they’re being foreclosed on by developers.  Huh, weird how that happens.

8.  Cyndi’s hair, which is almost as amazing as her acting skills!

7.  Cyndi’s outfit, which consists of a checkered shirt, plaid capris, and possibly men’s garters.  (She moves so fast, it’s hard to tell.

6.  Cameos by, like, every single important WWF wrestler of the day.  Including my favorite, Rowdy Roddy Piper!  (Come on, the dude wore a kilt, you know that’s awesome.)

5.  That there’s a hibachi grill in the caves.

4.  That the video was originally a two-parter, with a cliffhanger!

3.  Steven Spielberg’s cameo, where he appears to be dressed as one of the government agents from ET.

2.  The sign at Cyndi’s family’s gas station, that says, “You haven’t had GAS until you’ve had Mom and Pop’s.”  Classy.

And finally, the #1 most awesome thing about the “Goonies ‘R Good Enough” video is…

Andre the Giant (aka Fezzik) saves the day and everyone lives happily ever after!