Last night, I went to bed totally depressed. At that point, George “Macacawitz” Allen was leading in Virginia, Lamont had been soundly defeated in Connecticut, and Larry Kissell here in North Carolina was trailing significantly. Oh and? My homestate approved a “definition of marriage” act by nearly 80%. UGH.

This morning, when my alarm went off (I always wake up to NPR), I started to get a little excited again, when I heard that the Allen race in Virginia and Tester’s race in Montana were too close to call, but that both Dems were leading. YAY! I don’t know that much about Jim Webb, honestly, but I’ve read enough about Jon Tester to know that he’s a good man, and cares deeply about this country. I hope it goes his way. In addition, Larry Kissell is only behind by a few hundred votes, and the absentee ballots haven’t been counted. At least there’s hope.

Also, I have to say that I am really proud of myself, because I did actually bring up the “Definition of Marriage” act with my mom and dad. I was really nervous, because I found out during graduate school that while my parents are die-hard Dems, I am WAY more progressive than they are. (This was a really rude awakening for me, and still makes me quiver whenever I talk politics with my parents.) So I had really no idea how they were planning to vote. Luckily, they were voting against it. Unluckily, there weren’t a lot of other people in South Carolina feeling the same way. Le Sigh.

I am really concerned, though. I see this “wave o’ Dems,” as the news keeps calling it, sweeping into the House, but at least a few of them are former Republicans, many still don’t support equal rights for teh gays, and several are anti-choice. We’re starting to turn the tide, but maybe in name only. What good is that?

Just a few more notes…

I will not discuss he who shall not be named (even though I have before) except to say that I am very proud of Bob Harris for standing up to the delusional nightmare that is “our” once and future Durham D.A.

I actually really feel sorry for Ted Haggert, and I thought this article was thoughtful and truthful and my feelings about that whole thing are well-articulated in it, so I won’t bother to catalog my own thoughts on it, for now…

