I don’t normally make New Year’s Resolutions. Every so often, I set goals for the next big milestone in my life. For example, in January 2000, I said I would run a marathon before I turned or while I was 25. (I ran the Austin Marathon in February 2003, 2 months before I turned 26. Just squeaked in.) In January 2004, I resolved to skydive and climb Kilimanjaro before I turned or while I was 30. Sadly, it looks like neither will happen by that deadline. (I could go skydiving tomorrow, really, but right now it seems silly to shell out that kind of cash when I have so many other things I want to do and so little money with which to do it.) I haven’t given up on either, I just don’t think they’ll happen by the time I turn 31.

So, this year I actually made a list of resolutions. Mostly, they’re “bigger” goals, with a few specific steps for each one. So, here goes:

1. Be healthier–physically:
a. Run a 5K in 30 minutes or less by my 30th birthday (in April).
b. Do 30 “boy-style” push-ups in 1 minute or less by 1.1.08.

2. Be healthier–emotionally:
a. Find an organization that does good work in this area and start volunteering with it.
b. Take classes, join groups, even try Match.com if that’s what it takes to meet new people.

3. Be healthier–intellectually:
a. Read 50 books by 1.1.08. See the book list here.
b. Explore options for grad school. Maybe even take a public policy course in the fall.

4. Be committed to writing:
a. Make at least 1 submission to a writing contest.
b. Hit at list 50K in one of my novels-in-progress.
c. Post here at least 3 times a week (including book journal posts).

5. Be less of a consumer (that’s the only way I can think to put it):
a. Cut down on fast food.
b. Get a library card, especially considering #3a.
c. Shop locally, when possible.

Ok, I think that’s it for now.

Happy New Year!!

