Happy Ash Wednesday, everyone! Ok, I guess wishing people a happy day isn’t quite in keeping with the spirit of the day, so never mind.

First of all, can I just say, “God Bless Steven Page“? Well, I don’t care how you answer–I just did! šŸ™‚ I love his comment about John Mayer’s “Waiting on the World to Change”. I had actually been thinking of writing a blog post in response, but he did it nicely and quite succinctly. I heart him.

Also, just a note about what I’m giving up for Lent. I am giving up stupid internet things! Basically, I decided that I can only use the internet for communication (email, this here blog, and livejournal–where I read my friends’ journals and comment, oh and also facebook, because that’s how I keep up with like 3/4 of my friends and my brother) and to keep up with the news and do legitimate research. I will not read blogs of people I only know via the internet, and will definitely steer clear of celebrity gossip blogs and YouTube. (I have a few exceptions to this rule–I will read PostSecret and the She Walks blog once a week.) I have spent WAY too much time on that stuff lately. And also games, since I usually play web-based puzzle games every night while I watch TV. I will also attend at least 1 church service per week.

My aim this Lenten season is to figure out what I should be doing with my life and with my faith. Recently, I have taken to identifying myself as a Christian, a Methodist, and have even gone so far as to say that I am religious. I am–I just haven’t been attending services. A lot of times when I attend services, I get so angry because I feel that the clergy members are very hypocritical. I don’t expect them to be perfect, and I do recognize that they are human, but I cannot stand for any intolerance and double-speak, which I found a lot of in my more recent forays into church. But lately, I have been feeling the need for a little more guidance with regard to my faith, and how do I expect to get that when I don’t go to church? This is something I can’t do on my own.

In addition, it’s time for me to figure out where I’m supposed to be, and the ways my life can be used to serve others. I work for a non-profit, but since we serve a population that, often, is wealthy and entitled, I sometimes feel like I’d be more useful elsewhere. I am considering making a run at public policy grad school, so I intend to do some reading in Public Policy, and some soul searching about what I really want to be doing with my life, and then get started.

And on one final note, I think Duke Basketball players should be banned from church services. Ok, not really, but it’s really hard to focus on repenting when Jon Scheyer and Greg Paulus walk by you right after you get your ashes on your forehead.

