Title: But Enough About Me: A Jersey Girl’s Unlikely Adventures Among the Absurdly Famous
Author: Jancee Dunn
# of pages: 288

Comments: I’ll admit, when I found out about this book, I was both oddly attracted and repulsed by it. I figured it was going to be just another former reporter name-dropping and giving us tired old tell-all tabloid tales that we’ve already known for years. But I also love US Weekly, so when I saw this on a sale table for $4, I decided to give it a shot. I totally love this book. First of all, Dunn does a very good job of not name-dropping, except when she has to talk about how she was so nervous she almost puked before she met Madonna, and things like that. She also alternates with one chapter about her life, and one chapter about her work. The chapters about work come in the form of advice for young reporters, which is generally hilarious. And you can tell that she has genuine affection for people like Stevie Nicks, Dolly Parton, and Loretta Lynn, which is sweet to read. Finally, Dunn does a good job of tying up this memoir which ends sometime in her thirties. Whose life ends then? She doesn’t make any promises about happily ever after, just pretty happy at the moment–which is a nice, reasonable way to end this fun, easy story.

