Ok, y’all… I’ve had some personal stuff going on that I can’t talk about here, and I can’t think of anything else, so I took a little blog-cation. I still can only think about stuff I can’t share for the moment, so I decided that I would just do some Book Journal entries, since I’m behind on those, anyway! Here goes…

Title: We Thought You Would Be Prettier: True Tales of the Dorkiest Girl Alive
Author: Laurie Notaro
# of Pages: 240

Comments: So, I have loved Laurie Notaro ever since I read her first book, The Idiot Girls’ Action-Adventure Club. She is completely hilarious, and usually self-deprecating but not in a way that makes you uncomfortable. Note that I said USUALLY there. This time around, I thought there were more moments that made me wince at her humor than in the past, but it didn’t make it any less of an enjoyable read. My very favorite part (and the one that left me with tears in my eyes) is where she talks about being in the Borders bathroom and “letting the trumpet blow” but thinking it was the person in the other stall. Once she realized it was her, she saw the other lady at the sink, and then that lady ended up being the only person to show up at her reading. Not only was this hilarious (as one of my former RAs says, “Farts are always funny!”), but it was also really brave because so few women (no matter how funny, cool, and smart they are) will talk about farting. We need more fart talk in the world. Thanks for starting the trend, Laurie!

