Title: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Author: L. Frank Baum, with Illustrations by W. W. Denslow
# of pages: 314

Comments: I have been wanting to read this book ever since I read Wicked several years ago. I had watched the movie a million and three times, but never read the book. When I read Wicked, I wondered how much of the politics and the types of characters were in the original. Turns out there are a lot of the characters, but not much of the politics. It really is a children’s book. The Denslow pictures are really charming, as the story always was. I know there are further books in the series by Baum, and I seem to recall reading one or two written by someone else when I was a child. I’d like to see how much of Maguire’s book is really based on these novels, and how much of it actually comes from his own imaginings. The world he created in Wicked and Son of a Witch was so intricate and had all the problems of a real world that I am somehow compelled to investigate further.

