Today was a blah day. Not good, not bad. I was ridiculously exhausted and felt like I was walking through fog most of the day. I only did about half of the work I’d planned for myself (not a bad percentage for a Friday, really), and none of the personal stuff I meant to accomplish in the office. Sigh.

But despite my exhaustion, I decided to power through and go develop some film in the Arts Council darkroom. And boy, am I so glad I did! I have really been loving my photography class, and I don’t know if it’s the chemicals or the creative process or what, but being in the darkroom really makes me happy. This was my first solo flight in the lab, too, and now I feel so much more confident and competent about my darkroom skillz*! Everything went smoothly and quickly, and though I only got a quick glance at the negatives before hanging them in the drying cabinet, I think I have some cool images. I can’t wait to print some next week!

But then came the best part of my day. When I finished up at the Arts Council, I was starving**, so I decided to go through the drive-through at Arby’s. As I got up to the window, the cashier leaned out the window, and here is what ensued:

Cashier: That guy (points at car driving away) didn’t tell me he had a coupon until he paid. How am I supposed to give you a discount if you don’t tell me?
Me: (barely suppressing an eye roll, because I absolutely hate*** when cashiers complain about other customers…) Uh huh…
Cashier: (And here is where it gets really good) I mean, if I could read minds, would I be working at Arby’s?!?

When she said that, I started laughing uncontrollably. I laughed so hard and so long that the guy working the inside counter came over to see what we were laughing about. So thank you, Arby’s lady, for making my day!

*****************
*Including the fact that I did Algebra without a calculator! Take that, brain fog! (I had to mix the chemicals and make sure that I had the right dilution.)

**That’s because I skipped lunch. I intended to come home and microwave some lasagna I made the other night. But when I got there, the prospect of scooping, then microwaving, then eating the lasagna was more than I could bear, so I took a power nap. Then I ate a handful of potato chips and a Reese’s cup (left over from trick-or-treaters) while driving back to work. Sad.

***I mean really. They are paid to provide customer service, which I believe includes not talking about people to other customers. It’s actually one of my pet peeves when people in the service industries complain in front of customers. I was a Pizza Hut waitress for years, and no matter how much my feet or my back or my feelings hurt, I never complained in front of customers. I went to the back and gossiped with the cooks and the dishwashers. I know they don’t make a lot of money working the drive-thru at Arby’s, but there are plenty of other jobs out there that don’t require you to work with people, so go find one of those if you can’t be friendly and pleasant. So there.

