Title: Red Death
Author: Walter Mosley

Comments: This is the second book in the Easy Rawlings series. (I wrote about the first, Devil in a Blue Dress, earlier.) It was just as fantastic as the first. Easy’s investigational skills get better in this book (I love the way Mosley is developing this character so realistically), but the story gets much more complicated. The setting (just barely post WWII Watts in LA) is lively and thrilling and so interesting historically. Most of all, the mystery part was just so fantastic that I couldn’t wait to see how Easy would make everything work out in then end (since it wasn’t the last book in the series, I felt sure that he would). In fact, I was so involved in the story, that I finished the book in less than a day! (I was on vacation, so I had the luxury of reading for hours at a time.) I can’t wait to read the next one–which I plan to do over the Thanksgiving holiday, since my dad owns all Mosley’s books.

