So, after my strong(ish) performance in NaBloPoMo, I’ve been MIA for a bit… But here we are, at the new year, and I hope to be around these parts a bit more regularly…

I went on my big road trip, which was awesome–stories and pics to come. Had a great holiday with the fam, got a lot of work done, and am getting ready to do more. YAY!

Reflecting on last year’s resolutions, I didn’t do so well. I didn’t make 50 books, though I’ll finish the book journals for all the books I’ve finished in 2007 and count them up soon and report. I did ok–but not 50. I got a library card, and other than that, not so much. Sigh.

But I won’t let that get me down. I won’t give up on the endless cycle of self-improvement. In that spirit, I’m embarking on the 101 in 1001 project. I will accomplish 101 things in 1001 days, between January 1, 2008 (today) and September 28, 2010. The website for the general 101 in 1001 project is here, and there’s also an LJ community devoted to those starting today.

So, why do I think I can do this? Well, first, there’s a support group. Then, there’s a longer time period. And I’ve been very careful to do things that are only within my control. (ie, no “get a boyfriend” items on my list.) Plus, I’ve got my never-ending belief that good things happen, that the good guys win the game, that the life I imagine is always possible.

In addition, I realized that a lot of times, I make resolutions that require discipline, a removal of things I like or that make me happy. It’s time to reframe that. Kristy, one of my favorite bloggers, talked about No Joy 07 last year… And that’s the way I often thought of resolutions. So, I’m changing it to ALL JOY 08. Some of the end results are the same, but I had to think about, ultimately, what would make me happy. These 101 things will, at least momentarily.

Ok, friends, that’s it… I’ll upload the big list in a few more minutes!

